March 2024

Here you can find news items that were posted on Hell and Heaven Net in the past.


After the release of the Grandia HD Collection on Nintendo Switch and PC in 2019, the collection is now also available on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. This version will be compatible with PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X/S, respectively.

Grandia HD Collection contains the first Grandia (Grandia HD Remaster) and Grandia II (Grandia II HD Remaster) with several new features listed below.

Grandia follows a young boy named Justin who dreams of becoming a great adventurer and uncovers a grand secret within the ancient Dom Ruins. Justin meets other adventurers who join him throughout his journey, and together they discover what lies beyond the End of the World.

Grandia HD Remaster features:

  • Enhanced details to UI, sprites, and texture art
  • Original cinematic videos receiving visual enhancements
  • Widescreen support and customizable resolutions
  • Trophies and Achievements
  • Audio: Japanese and English
  • Language Support: English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese (simplified and traditional)

Grandia II occurs eons after the battle of Good & Evil between the gods Granas and Valmar. The young mercenary Ryudo is tasked with protecting the acolyte Elena, a job that turns into a journey to protect the world from never-ending darkness.

Grandia II HD Remaster features:

  • Enhanced details to UI, sprites, and texture art
  • Original cinematic videos receiving visual enhancements
  • Widescreen support and customizable resolutions
  • Trophies and Achievements
  • Audio: Japanese and English
  • Language Support: English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, and Chinese (simplified and traditional)

Grandia has been developed by Game Arts (Thexder, Sylpheed, and Lunar) and released on the Sega Saturn back in 1997 in Japan only. In 1999 the game was ported to the PlayStation and was also released in North America by Sony and in Europe by Ubisoft (in 2000). Grandia II was first released on the Dreamcast in 2000 and has been ported to the PlayStation 2 and PC in 2002. In 2015 the Grandia II Anniversary Edition was released on Steam and GOG. That version was renamed to Grandia II HD Remaster in 2019.

Grandia HD Collection is now available for download in the PlayStation Store and Microsoft Store. A physical version is available for pre-order in partnership with Limited Run Games until 14 April 2024.

Grandia HD Collection Limited Run Games PlayStation 4 version

Square Enix

During PAX East 2024, Square Enix has announced that the upcoming DLC for Final Fantasy XVI, The Rising Tide, will be released on 18 April 2024 on PlayStation 5.

The Rising Tide unlocks an all-new story, battles, sidequests, weapons, accessories, level cap and more, adding a new depth to Clive’s journey before the exciting conclusion of Final Fantasy XVI. In The Rising Tide, an unmarked letter arrives to Clive at the hideaway containing a request to rescue the Dominant of Leviathan the Lost. This new DLC takes Clive and his companions to the hidden land of Mysidia to uncover the tragic history of a forgotten people.

On the same date a free update (Version 1.30) will be available. This update will add quality of life improvements for the game, including:

  • Return to a quest giver immediately with the new “Quick Complete” function
  • Icon updates for important character quests
  • A new Skill Set feature which allows players to save up to 5 unique Feat and Ability sets
  • Abilities and Accessories adjusted for easier use
  • New “Custom” controller type allows for freely customizable button layouts
  • Tone correction, screen effects, and more added to Photo Mode
  • Numerous new orchestrion rolls added
Final Fantasy XIV

Square Enix has announced that Final Fantasy XIV will be available for Xbox Series X/S on 21 March 2024. The Final Fantasy XIV Starter Edition (which includes A Realm Reborn, Heavensward, and Stormblood) will be available for free as an Xbox Game Pass Ultimate perk for a limited time.

Currently an open beta is in progress which is only available for new players who will be playing Final Fantasy XIV for the first time.

Final Fantasy XIV is an MMORPG and was released back in 2010. However the original version was badly received and resulted in a change of development team. In 2013 Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn (first known as Final Fantasy XIV: Version 2.0) was released. Later four major expansion packs have been released: Heavensward (2015), Stormblood (2017), Shadowbringers (2019), and Endwalker (2021). A fifth expansion pack, Dawntrail, is to be released in Summer 2024.

Final Fantasy VII Remake

Almost 4 years after part one of the Final Fantasy VII remake trilogy was released, Final Fantasy VII Rebirth is now available worldwide for the PlayStation 5.

In Final Fantasy VII Rebirth, players take on the role of mercenary Cloud Strife and his comrades as they pursue legendary swordsman Sephiroth, a haunting figure from Cloud’s past bent on ruling the planet, across a vast and vibrant world rife with danger, adventure, joy and uncertainty. These unlikely heroes, including beloved, iconic characters Tifa, Barret, Aerith and Red XIII, join forces with new companions like the spirited ninja operative Yuffie and the wisecracking, feline-shaped robot Cait Sith. Final Fantasy VII Rebirth delivers an unforgettable experience to players filled with unexpected twists, memorable characters and jaw-dropping set pieces that longtime fans and newcomers can both enjoy.

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth keyart

“As the director of the original Final Fantasy VII, I feel very proud that we were able to introduce a whole new generation to role-playing games and show so many newcomers a wider world of storytelling. Today, I’m filled with the same sense of pride when I look at what our development team has accomplished with Final Fantasy VII Rebirth. This adventure offers rich rewards to longtime fans while welcoming in newcomers to begin their Final Fantasy adventure here and experience a similar sense of wonder as they would have felt in 1997. I hope that both fans and those who have never played Final Fantasy before will enjoy this game.”

-Yoshinori Kitase, Producer

“Final Fantasy VII Rebirth is a labor of love and our tribute to adventure – a massive world of compelling stories and our most ambitious game to date. Like those who first brought us the original Final Fantasy VII, we’ve reached for something that was never possible before today’s technology: a deeper portrayal of our main cast of friends, comrades and people of the Planet. By combining their powers in battle and strengthening their bonds through your choices, we hope you feel a powerful, connection with these characters and the world they inhabit.”

-Naoki Hamaguchi, Director

“For many years, I wondered what a remake of Final Fantasy VII could look like. Above all else, I felt we would need to do justice to the characters and story that had become so beloved by fans around the world. Final Fantasy VII Rebirth delivers on this vision and vastly expands upon the original title not only in the size of its world, but in the quiet moments shared by party members, where warmth, joy, sorrow and tenderness can be found. As they press on and forge deeper bonds en route to their ultimate fate, I hope you will open your heart to feel these feelings alongside them. As the second title in a trilogy, we’ve enjoyed hearing our fans’ feedback from the previous title and incorporating elements into Final Fantasy VII Rebirth for a truly breathtaking follow-up. Thank you for playing our vision for a remake, in which the past is honored by the possibilities of the present to reimagine a story for future generations.”

-Tetsuya Nomura, Creative Director

You can watch the release trailer below.